• 4 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Question for 2/1 bidders.

#21 User is offline   FrancesHinden 

• Limit bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, classical music, skiing... but I spend more time earning a living than doing any of those

Posted 2014-July-03, 13:25

I bid 1NT semi-forcing. If partner passes it, it is very unlikely that we were making 3S. I've been playing this for 20 years now, and I don't think I've ever had a bad result for playing in 1NT instead of 3S. That's not to say that 1NT is the best contract, the best contract is usually 2S, but that isn't available if I evaluate my hand as a limit raise.

(I've had bad results for playing in 1NT, but they have been opposite a weak hand with a long minor.)

The method where 2C is nat FG or a 3-card limit raise is quite playable and solves this problem at the expense of making the FG hands harder to bid. We prefer not to use this because we like our relay methods over 2C, which need it to be game forcing. 3-card limit raise opposite a hand that will pass 1NT and the opponents won't bid is a very narrow target.

#22 User is offline   mike777 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2014-July-03, 18:04

I was a bit surprised that so many very good players were eager to force to 3s given what many open 1s with.

#23 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2014-July-03, 18:57

View Postmike777, on 2014-July-03, 18:04, said:

I was a bit surprised that so many very good players were eager to force to 3s given what many open 1s with.

I can't speak for the good players, but my view is that if we don't have a good play for 3, what can they make?
--Ben--

#24 User is offline   the hog 

• Interests:Wagner and Bridge

Posted 2014-July-03, 21:11