• You cannot reply to this topic

procore

#1 User is offline   kenrexford 

• Brain Farts and Actual Farts Increasing with Age
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:www.limadbc.blogspot.com editor/contributor

Posted 2014-May-23, 14:15

So, my sixth grade daughter has a c right now in reading. As she is bright, I guessed that she is screwing around. But, to be fair, I decided to go online and see the tests that she takes on reading comprehension. Maybe I could help her?

I am an attorney, which involves a ton of reading comprehension. I scored well enough on the LSAT to get into Georgetown University Law. I was a national merit finalist and high school valedictorian.

I have no clue what the hell the answer was to any of the questions. In fact, I could not even reduce the four choices down to three.
"Gibberish in, gibberish out. A trial judge, three sets of lawyers, and now three appellate judges cannot agree on what this law means. And we ask police officers, prosecutors, defense lawyers, and citizens to enforce or abide by it? The legislature continues to write unreadable statutes. Gibberish should not be enforced as law."

-P.J. Painter.

#2 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2014-May-23, 16:16

I have been hearing such things, mostly in the mathematics area, and while I don't want to jump on any bandwagon I am concerned. Right now, I know very little.

A very useful principle would be that a normal adult should be able to understand a sixth grade question even if that adult has not attended the sixth grade class. If this is not so, they are teaching jargon, not math, not reading.

I am more than willing to hold off on conclusions until I hear more, but I think that the above principle is a very good starting place.

My grandkids are doing fine as far as I know and I think that their parents are happy, but I hear some complaints from others.