• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Tell me about Brooklyn

#1 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-May-07, 12:01

Granddaughter is graduating from college and moving to Brooklyn. I've never been there, and neither has she, but they tell me it is a place with some history. It occurred to me to buy her a book.

She can find her own art galleries and such, and she is not much interested in baseball (Ebbets field is long gone anyway). I was thinking of something on the social history, not particularly profound or heavy, just interesting and a bit of fun. Any suggestions?

And restaurants? She is a vegetarian.

Specifically Brooklyn, is what I am after. I am no expert on Manhattan, but Brooklyn is a total mystery to me. Don't worry about a suggestion not being sufficiently brilliant.
Ken

#2 User is offline   Bbradley62 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2014-May-07, 12:09

Have you seen the 70s TV show "Welcome Back, Kotter"? That was set in Brooklyn. Not one of the ritzier parts of Brooklyn, but definitely Brooklyn. Once upon a time, Brooklyn was its own city, the fourth largest in the country, before it and various other areas were merged into New York City.

Ebbets Field and the Dodgers are long gone, but the Barclays Center is the new arena, which is attracting sports teams and concerts and such. It's home to the Brooklyn (formerly New York and New Jersey) Nets, and will soon be home to the New York Islanders NHL team. Barbra Streisand and Billy Joel, among many others, have performed there.

And, of course, there's this bridge, complete with pedestrian lanes, connecting it to downtown Manhattan...

#3 User is offline   kenberg 

Posted 2014-May-07, 12:25

I have large gaps in my popular culture knowledge. Welcome Back was at a time when I was watching very little television. I am only dimly aware of it.