BBO Discussion Forums: Frelling two bids - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Frelling two bids Here we analyze and comment results obtained using the Frelling Twos

#1 User is offline   Giangibar 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2014-March-29, 09:31

Hello everybody! My name is Gianluca Bergami - Giangibar on BBO. I'm a 23-year old Civil Engineer and member of the Italian junior bridge team. My good friend and bridge partner Matteo Chiesa (Stalemate on BBO, 29-year old, PhD in Theoretical Physics) and I decided about one year ago to learn a scientific as well as fun system and went on to learn Moscito. In the process of learning, the advices we were given by Richard Willey and Matthew Thomson proved to be essential.
Now, after one year of experimentation, we can refer the many experiences we gathered while playing a very aggressive version of Moscito (a system already aggressive in itself). More specifically, after some dialogues with Richard Willey, we decided to discuss here one of the most controversial parts of the whole system: the Frelling Two Bids.
For those who do not know this set of preempting bids, the openings are explained here:
2 = weak 2-suiter with (4+) and (4+ or 4+);
2 = weak 2-suiter with (4+) and (4+ or 5+);
2 = weak with (6) or (4+ and 5+).
At first we were suspicious about these openings, as we thought they were too disruptive and dangerous, but after one year at the table we found out that the top results we were getting far outweighed the bad ones. I'll post here some example deals...

#2 User is offline   Giangibar 

• PipPip

Posted 2014-March-29, 09:48

Deal 1:

Matchpoints, NS vul.

I was West, first seat non vulnerable, and had:
10xxx
Jxx
10x
A98x