• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Spam A possible solution?

#21 User is offline   Antrax 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-March-29, 22:26

I have a lot of experience with this type of issues, having ran other forums in the past.
The best solution was to use a simple quiz similar to what Vampyr was suggesting. How many different suits exist or how many cards in the deck, trivial for a human but require customized bot scripts to defeat which is normally not worth the operator's time. I just asked both communities to come up with questions, it's a lot less annoying for humans than captchas are and more difficult for bots to defeat due to reliance on specialized knowledge (in this case, Bridge).

Barring that, just de-standardizing your registration form often helps. Give all the form fields random names and move them around a bit, and if you want to feel extra safe you can change the prompts tot - instead of "Username" use "Nickname", etc. That again requires customization of the bot to BBO specifically, which goes against what bot operators aim for. It takes them a while to notice the bots fail on BBO and then when they adjust you can shift everything around again.
The down side to the second approach is that it can screw Google Analytics, which also relies on form fields having some logical names.

#22 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2014-March-30, 22:51

View PostAntrax, on 2014-March-29, 22:26, said: