BBO Discussion Forums: Which opening bid? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +

Which opening bid?

#1 User is offline   Liversidge 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bridge, Gardening, DIY, Travel

Posted 2014-January-22, 09:49

I am a novice and this is my first post. My partner and I play a Weak No Trump and I had to open on this hand. I bid one diamond. My partner said I should have told a little lie and bid 1NT. What is the right bid?

#2 User is offline   Endymion77 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Interests:NFL, NBA, poker

Posted 2014-January-22, 10:05

I don't play weak NT but I think you can downgrade this hand. I certainly might open it 1 playing strong NT. It's got the worst possible shape, AKQ spades don't have their full value (AKQx is much better) and the spots are bad (if diamonds were 1098x or clubs were J10x, the hand is significantly better).

#3 User is offline   MrAce 

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-January-22, 10:12

Hi there, welcome to forums Posted Image

I think your pd meant to say that this hand is worth 14 hcp due to shape (3343). I do not think it is as clear as your pd thinks it is. First of all i do not know the weak NT range you use.But i assume it is 12-14.

-3343 is not a good shape, true.
-Not holding a 4 card major reduces the chance of available game contracts. (not sure if this was MP or IMP scoring)
-Your longest suit is your weakest suit, which is not good.
-Hcps, except J are supporting each other which is the only good thing.

People usually like to upgrade NT hands and there are a lot of people who thinks you should never downgrade. There are other who says if you can upgrade you should also downgrade. I am not a big fan of downgrading NT ranges, and i almost never do it. But if there is a hand that i would downgrade, it could be this one. So i think your pd has a point.
"Genius has its own limitations, however stupidity has no such boundaries!"