BBO Discussion Forums: How to know to look for slam - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +

How to know to look for slam Bid 4S and made 7

#21 User is offline   EricK 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-June-15, 02:45

View PostInterrobng, on 2014-June-14, 17:16, said:

This has been an interesting thread. Thanks to all who contributed.

I am a beginner, and in my life I think I might have used cue bids once. My impression was that cue bids generally show control. So, if I open 1S, partner responds 2S, and I realize slam is a possibility, on the given hand I might have bid 3D (had I remembered that cue bids exist). That would have said two things: I can't control clubs, and I can control diamonds.

I have never before heard of using a cue bid to ask if partner can help with a suit, as earlier responders have recommended.

When does a cue bid show weakness in a suit, and when does it show strength in a suit?

Thanks very much!

RobR

To make a slam in a suit requires three things: Good trumps, good controls, and enough tricks.

Good trumps are important because, for example, if you get to slam on a suit like Axxx opposite xxxx, then you will definitely go down, or with Axxxx opposite xxxx you will often go down no matter what you have in the rest of the hand.

Controls are important because you don't want the opponents to cash two Aces, or the Ace King of a suit.

But even if you have great trumps and lots of controls, you still need to find 12 tricks! eg AKxx Axx Kxx Kxx opposite QJxx Kxx Axx Axx has great trumps and loads of controls and still only makes 10 tricks most of the time.