Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Asking if a bid is Weak 2 Weak 2s are not 'standard'

#1 User is offline   brukp 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2013-August-07, 03:25

I have enjoyed playing on Bridge Base for some time now but this is my first time on this forum

I am getting weary of the abuse I sometimes receive for asking if an opening 2 bid is weak - when the profile does not say anything. Last night I was told to get off 'if I didn't understand basic bidding'.

The problem is I play standard UK ACOL which typically uses Strong 2s. Some people do not seem to realise that weak 2s are not universal.

Should I persist in asking or just assume that if there is nothing on the profile an opening 2 bid is weak?

Thank you

#2 User is offline   CamHenry 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2013-August-07, 03:35

In general, Standard American or something similar is most common on BBO. Many European and Asian players also use something similar. You'll therefore see a preponderance of weak 2s.

If you're used to Acol, I suggest playing in the Acol Club as much as possible. Sure, you don't get such a variety of opposing systems, but you're more likely to find opponents who will answer questions politely and more likely to find a partner who will play strong 2s with you (if that's your preference).

#3 User is offline   P_Marlowe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-August-07, 05:35

Assuming, that the bid is a weak 2, if you have no other indication is certainly
a good strategy.
Also alerting a strong 2, even if it is non alteratble in your enviroment is the
logical consequence of this.

2nd - If someone behaves like this mark him as enemy, over time you will filter out
the ones, you dont want to play against.

With kind regards
Marlowe
With kind regards
Uwe Gebhardt (P_Marlowe)

#4 User is offline   blackshoe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip