Would you buy either of these?

#1 User is offline   Rosewall 

• Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:reading
    current events
    tennis

Posted 2013-March-01, 07:22

I'm basically brand new to the game. I purchased A. Grant's 'Bridge Basics 1' computer program and have started using it. Through Amazon and EBay I have some bridge books on order as well.

Would it be worthwhile to get Grant's version of 'Bridge Baron 2000' or 'Jack 5'?
"Like most weak men, he prided himself on never changing one's mind." -W. Somerset Maugham

#2 User is offline   billw55 

• enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-March-01, 07:49

Welcome to our little hobby :)

Unfortunately I can't help much with software recommendations. Maybe try here.
Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn

#3 User is offline   Rosewall 

• Pip
    current events
    tennis

Posted 2013-March-01, 08:07

Thanks, Bill.

I had already DL'd that free software.

Honestly, I just checked some of these forums, and I'm surprised that there is not much activity here. I was looking closely at one particular thread, and noticed that the last post there was from @ 2 years ago... :( Do you know of other more active bridge forums?
"Like most weak men, he prided himself on never changing one's mind." -W. Somerset Maugham

#4 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2013-March-01, 08:13

View PostRosewall, on 2013-March-01, 08:07, said:

Thanks, Bill.

I had already DL'd that free software.

Honestly, I just checked some of these forums, and I'm surprised that there is not much activity here. I was looking closely at one particular thread, and noticed that the last post there was from @ 2 years ago... :( Do you know of other more active bridge forums?

Couple quick comments

1. I own a copy of Jack. Can't recommend it highly enough