BBO Discussion Forums: What is limit raise in modern sayc? 3 cards or 4 cards support - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What is limit raise in modern sayc? 3 cards or 4 cards support Sayc

#1 User is offline   markyears 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-July-08, 12:08

I'm a novice and learning sayc. It seems that in recent sayc booklet and some other materials, limit raise only requires 3 cards support. Like 1-3 only promises 3 cards support. If I have game-forcing value, then start with 2/1. But some people keep telling me, limit raise should require 4 cards support. If only 3 cards with invitational value (10-11), I should use 2/1 first, like 1-2-2-3 to show 3 card support and invitational strength. This seems also very reasonable. By this I mean, if I have game-forcing value, I can bid 1-2-2-4 to make a difference from the former.

May I ask which approach is standard in modern sayc?

#2 User is offline   awm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-July-08, 12:41

View Postmarkyears, on 2012-July-08, 12:08, said:

I'm a novice and learning sayc. It seems that in recent sayc booklet and some other materials, limit raise only requires 3 cards support. Like 1-3 only promises 3 cards support. If I have game-forcing value, then start with 2/1. But some people keep telling me, limit raise should require 4 cards support. If only 3 cards with invitational value (10-11), I should use 2/1 first, like 1-2-2-3 to show 3 card support and invitational strength. This seems also very reasonable. By this I mean, if I have game-forcing value, I can bid 1-2-2-4 to make a difference from the former.

SAYC is that 1M-3M shows 3+ card support. Bidding a 2/1 and then jump raising like in your example is a game force; it's useful to leave room for cuebids at the four level on these hands.

The idea that 1M-3M should show 4 is influence from 2/1 GF methods bleeding over.