• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Multi two diamonds please explain convention

#1 User is offline   tezza 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2004-November-16, 01:00

Hi There
This is my first post to the list. I have been playing for a few years and have just joined up with BBO and have some questions.
I would like to know exactly what a hand requires to open 2 diamonds and also the normal response to this opening with various shape and sized hands. Also what is the opener's re-bid with a large hand and its shape requirements.
Many thanks, Tezza.

#2 User is offline   helene_t 

• The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2004-November-16, 03:43

Hi Tezza, and welcome,

There are 1001 versions of the "Multi" convention so I predict that the answers you well get here will be very confusing!

If you are serious about multi, you should find a good book that describes a multi version that fits your bidding system. (For example, the issue of whether to include a strong minor-suit variant depends on whether you can comfortably open strong hands at the one-level). I wrote a short summary on Bridgeguys
If you can read Dutch, I can send you the whole story.
The world would be such a happy place, if only everyone played Acol :) --- TramTicket

#3 User is offline   Free 

• mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2004-November-16, 03:48

Hi, welcome :P

Multi 2 usually shows one of several hand types:
- standard weak two in a Major
- strong NT (24+HCP or so)
- GF singlesuiter (some play GF 3-suiter, or only GF in a minor)
It depends on your preferences what you play exactly.

Suppose you play this version, with NT 24+ and all singlesuiter GF hands.

Responses are always made opposite a weak hand in a Major, because that's the most frequent:

2 = pass or correct - pass with , bid 2 with , 2NT with the big balanced hand or 3X with a GF singlesuiter