• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

UI case ACBL Failure to announce/alert

#1 User is offline   jh51 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-May-25, 14:00

The 4 bid was not announced. I was west and chose to look at the opponent's convention card before making my call. After the bidding was complete, North informed us of South's failure to announce his transfer bid. South mentioned that she remembered that 4 was a transfer when I looked at her partner's convention card. 4 made 6.

Clearly South's failure to announce was UI to North, but I don't know that anything but 4 is a LA.

Since South woke up when I looked at her partner's convention card, is the AI or UI? I would think UI, but I am not a rules expert.

If South has UI, is passing 4 a logical alternative?

What is the correct ruling on this hand?

I must admit that at the table, I did not think to call the director as I should have.

#2 User is offline   ArtK78 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, participatory and spectator sports.
    Occupation - Tax Attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.

Posted 2012-May-25, 14:43

I am not a rules expert, but I would suspect that any action of an opponent would be AI, not UI.

#3 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2012-May-26, 11:07

View PostArtK78, on 2012-May-25, 14:43, said:

I am not a rules expert, but I would suspect that any action of an opponent would be AI, not UI.

If the opponent had said something like "I see on your CC that you play Texas Transfers", that would be AI. But I don't think the mere act of looking at your card should be allowed to wake you up. Opponents should be able to take advantage of their right to know your methods without disadvantaging themselves.

#4 User is offline   blackshoe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-May-26, 12:34