When East enquired about the 2♣ bid as he was thinking of pulling 4♥ out of the box, it was revealed that 2♣ was artificial and had not been alerted. West called the TD who explained that West could withdraw his 2♥ bid and change it to any legal call in which case the information conveyed by the initial 2♥ bid would be AI to East-West but UI to North-South. West perceived some potential advantage in changing his 2♥ to pass and did so. TD then further clarified the UI situation for North-South along the lines of they are not allowed to take account of the 2♥ overcall in the way they bid the rest of the hand and in the play can't play West to have length in ♥ until same is demonstrably suggested by other AI in the remaining auction and/or play. South bid a fairly meek 4♠ after East's pass and duly lost 11 imps against the slam bid in the other room and they moved on to the next board.
The hypothetical ruling on the hand is in the situation where East instead of passing over 2♠ bids 4♥ and then North-South go on to bid their slam. With the fact that West had a ♥ overcall over a non-alerted 2♣ bid, this delayed 4♥ bid out of the blue by East after passing twice already looks like it has -1100/1400 written all over it so it may be reasonable to conclude that penalising 4♥ is a viable option for North-South absent the UI that West also holds a ♥ suit.
As the TD, would you entertain an adjustment to 4♥xE-3 for NS +500?
A similar situation came up last week with the following auction:
West alerted 1♦ (which, btw, had been correctly pre-alerted at the start of the 5-board round) after South had bid 1♥ and South elected to muddy the waters with a change of 1♥ to pass creating a UI situation for East-West, but North would have the AI that South holds a ♠ suit. When South changed his 1♥ bid to pass (and West chose to still pass) a few interesting issues arose.
Because South has already promised 4+♠, in the North-South methods a 1♠ bid by North would show 2-3 ♠ and 2♠ by North would show 4♠, but for East-West should they be alerted to the adjusted meanings of 1♠ or 2♠ which are affected by the UI of South holding 4♠; or do East-West need to proceed as if North has an unbalanced hand which is what 1♠ and 2♠ would mean if South had passed after an alerted 1♦ overcall?