I will only post the case as exactly as I can, as it was sent to the TD.)
This happened behind screens. N and E are on the same side of the screen.
In our division we play without TD on site. The scoring sheet is sent to the league, together with below case.
(I'm not sure of the spots or actual distribution of ♣-suit, but I think the relevant part of the hands is correct).
West leads ♦2 (3rd/5th) and declarer plays ♦Q won by ♦K of East.
East returns ♣K and South soon claims 12 tricks.
- East says that he got the explanation from North of 5♦=4 or 1 aces of 5.
- North says that he and his partner already play 41/30 for 20 years, so he thinks he gave the correct explanation.
- West - at the other side of the screen - did get correct explanation from South of 5♦=3/0 aces of 5.
- The CC's available to East and West - but not consulted by E at the table say 41/30.
- East can work out that his partner can not have an Ace. But didn't really consider that after North's wrong explanation. East thought that West had either ♣A or ♥A. He returned a ♣ because West would always make ♥A if he had. East, being sure his partner had an ace, didn't think long over this. (normally East is a slow player who thinks long over most played cards).
- At the other table, in the closed room, bidding and play on the 1st trick was the same, but with correct explanation and a diamond was returned at trick 2.
- EW ended 2nd in 3th division (Belgium) with the same nbr of points as the 1st. The result of this ruling will decide who is champion in this division and promotes to 2nd division. NS did end last in this division.
(as you see the declarer misplayed by playing ♦Q, but that doesn't matter for the case).
What do you rule?
...If you don't change the result then EW will appeal and you get following extra info:
(My partner didn't want to add following info in the description of the case because it was from another board and therefor irrelevant according to him):
- In the first half North Did incorrectly bid on another board 4D iso 4C after 4NT ace asking & they were in 6S with 2 aces out. That was not against the same EW because tables were switched during the half.