BBO Discussion Forums: Foreign languages - rate your skills - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Foreign languages - rate your skills

#21 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-June-29, 04:13

View PostElianna, on 2011-November-29, 21:54, said:

What was good about learning Hungarian was that it was so different than all the other languages I've attempted to learn, so there wasn't going to be a case of my attempting to use vocab/grammar from a different language in it (like French and Spanish).

I started learning Hungarian because I studied abroad there. Now I would say that I can't speak it at all, but I can take a running stab at common phrases, know my numbers, and know how to say that I don't speak Hungarian, and speak a little Hungarian.

I could likely read a child's picture book. :)

But darned if I could pronounce the difference o or u with an umlaut over it correctly (sorry, don't have an appropriate keyboard).

Been listening to a lot of Hungarian music lately so picking up a few words, the bit of pronounciation I haven't sussed is when an e with an accent on it is pronounced "ee" and when it's pronounced "ay" like a french e acute.

English 1
French 4-5
Spanish 5-6
German 6

#22 User is offline   gwnn 

• Csaba the Hutt
  • Interests:bye

Posted 2014-June-29, 04:46

View PostCyberyeti, on 2014-June-29, 04:13, said:

Been listening to a lot of Hungarian music lately so picking up a few words, the bit of pronounciation I haven't sussed is when an e with an accent on it is pronounced "ee" and when it's pronounced "ay" like a french e acute.