• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Gambling 3NT

#21 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2011-March-24, 14:14

View PostArtK78, on 2011-March-24, 08:20, said:

I find it kind of funny that the original poster said that gambling 3NT came up only once in about 750 deals. I have been playing for about 40 years, and I can say that the opportunity to open a gambling 3NT has come up about 5 times over that entire period.

I've only been playing about half that long, but my experience is similar to yours. I think that's because I was also taught more stringent requirements for the bid: the suit should be headed by AKQJ, so that you have a very good chance to run the suit opposite a singleton. AKQxxxx requres partner to have a doubleton or the suit to break 3-2.

And not only do you have to have the right hand type, but you have to be the one to open the bidding. So throw out half the boards, when you're in 3rd or 4th seat (with a passed partner, it's unlikely he'll have enough side stoppers). And throw out the boards where you're in 2nd seat and RHO opens.

#22 User is offline   chasetb 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2011-March-24, 15:42

View Postbluecalm, on 2011-March-24, 08:09, said:

It also allows them to bid freely 4/4/4 and have 2 meaning for the double (direct and delayed).
Imo this convention sucks.

I usually respect your opinion, but this time I feel you are dead wrong. They rarely come up, and most people don't even know how to bid over it when their partners open it. In my two years of playing bridge (5000+ deals), I have had a weak Gambling 3NT. It gave us a swing because partner was in 6= ; the LOLs at the other table were in 3NT making 5. Because it was unfavorable vulnerability, I think we would have gotten there anyway by me opening 3 on x xxx AKQxxxx xx with him, as he is aggressive and plays well.