BBO Discussion Forums: Standard carding - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Standard carding Count, attitude and suit preference

#1 User is offline   bowbells 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2004-June-10, 07:44

I am trying to implement standard count, attitude and suit preference into my bridge game but am not clear on certain aspects.

My understanding so far is that the following echo’s mean:

Hi then low = encourage / even number of cards
Low then high = discourage / odd number

I also understand that some partnerships may prefer different order of signals. Ie. attitude then count or count then attitude.

As a newbie I am not sure what order I should play but so far I only play attitude and show my suit preference on discards.

Example:
On partners lead my first discard would signal attitude so a high card would be encourage and a low card would be discourage. I am right in thinking that anything 6+ is considered high?

Say partner has lead king from AK and I am holding Q94 of that suit. I would lay the 9 to encourage the suit. If I was holding 52 doubleton I would lead the 5 to complete the hi-low echo to encourage.

At the moment if I can’t follow suit (opps or partners) my first discard would be to signal suit preference. Is this correct? If I was to lay say the 2,3 or 4 of clubs as a discard then to me that is signalling a spade. Discarding a high club would be asking for club suit.

Regarding count, do I show this on opps lead? If not how do i show this? Hi/low being even, low-hi being odd.

I am sure I am missing a lot here but I have not been able to find any detailed examples of card signalling on the internet. Any links would be appreciated.

Advanced thanks.

#2 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2004-June-10, 07:56

Welcome to the BridgeBase Online Forums. You might want to start with this thread...

http://forums.bridgebase.com/in...ay;threadid=575