• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

RIP Memoriam thread?

#401 User is online   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2016-January-19, 11:08

The new celestial supergroup just gained a drummer http://www.bbc.co.uk...t-arts-35342699

What with Lemmy on bass/vocals, Frey on guitar and Bowie on vocals could be good.

#402 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2016-January-26, 14:14

Marvin Minsky, one of the pioneers in the field of Artificial Intelligence, died on Sunday at the age of 89.

I think this is the first person in this thread who I knew personally, although not very well. When I was a freshman at MIT, I think I once went to a party at his home.

#403 User is offline   ylee 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2016-January-29, 23:03

My good friend and BBO player BozoBus lost his heroic battle with pancreatic cancer on Feb. 25 2015..Not a day goes by that I do not remember him. Next month will be the one year anniversary of his passing. He loved to play bridge and taught me a lot.

#404 User is offline   PassedOut 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Music, films, computer programming, politics, bridge

Posted 2016-February-09, 08:50

Artur Fischer, Inventor With More Patents Than Edison, Dies at 96
The growth of wisdom may be gauged exactly by the diminution of ill temper. — Friedrich Nietzsche
The infliction of cruelty with a good conscience is a delight to moralists — that is why they invented hell. — Bertrand Russell

#405 User is offline   y66 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2016-February-13, 16:43

Justice Antonin Scalia, Who Led a Conservative Renaissance on the Supreme Court, Is Dead at 79
If you lose all hope, you can always find it again -- Richard Ford in The Sportswriter

#406 User is offline   Winstonm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Art, music

Posted 2016-February-13, 18:13